Furbearers are a diverse group of animals in Kansas, encompassing 6 families and consisting of 13 legally harvestable species including beaver , badger , bobcat , red fox , swift fox , gray fox , mink , muskrat , opossum , raccoon , striped skunk , least weasel and long-tailed weasel. Though the coyote is not classified as a furbearer in Kansas, it is often associated with and monitored as if it were.