Hunting Applications and Fees

Annual Hunting License - All resident hunters age 16 through 74 must have a resident hunting license unless exempt by Kansas Law. Nonresident hunters, regardless of age, must have a nonresident hunting license. All annual hunting licenses can be purchased online by clicking here or through all licensed agents, or Kansas Department of Wildlife & Parks offices.

Kansas residents age 65 - 74 will be required to have a hunting and/or fishing license. A reduced price lifetime combination hunting/fishing license or a half price annual fishing, annual hunting, or combination annual license is available for purchase. (see list below for fees)

License or Permit / Fee / Purchase Description

  • Lifetime Senior Resident Hunt/Fish Combination: $42.50
  • Senior Resident Hunt: $15.00
  • Senior Resident Combination Hunt/Fish: $25.00
  • Resident Hunt: $27.50
  • Residents under 16: No license required
  • Resident Combination Hunt & Fish: $47.50
  • Resident Combination Hunt & Fish - Early Purchase:  42.50 (Must be purchased prior to February 1st.) 
  • Resident Apprentice (two-time purchase Hunter Education deferral): $27.50
  • 5 Year Resident Combo Hunt & Fish: $182.50
  • 5 Year Resident Hunt License: $102.50
  • Multi-Year Resident Youth Hunt (ages 16-20): $42.50
  • Multi-Year Resident Youth Combination Hunt & Fish (ages 16-20): $72.50 A youth hunting and/or fishing license is available for residents age 16-20. The one-time purchase, multi-year youth hunting OR fishing license is $42.50, multi-year hunting/fishing combination license is $72.50. This multi-year license expires on Dec. 31 of the year the person turns 21.
  • Nonresident: $97.50 (Download Application if only applying by mail)
  • Nonresident under 16: $42.50
  • Nonresident Apprentice (two-time purchase Hunter Education deferral): $97.50
  • Nonresident Combination Hunt & Fish: $137.50
  • National Guard Permit: Free hunting, fishing, and Park Vehicle Permits are made available and issued based on funding to active members of the Kansas National Guard. DO NOT FAX! 
  • Download 2016 National Guard Hunting, Fishing, and Park Vehicle Permit Application (PDF)
  •  KS Disabled Veterans: Free hunting and fishing licenses are made available and issued based on funding. Applicant must provide a copy of current disabled veterans entitlement papers showing proof of at least 30% disability. DO NOT FAX!
  • Download 2016 Disabled Veterans Hunting and Fishing License Application (PDF)

Lifetime Hunting License: $502.50 (Residents Only)
$69.00 if paid quarterly ( Download Application )

Lifetime Hunting & Fishing Combination License: $962.50 (Residents Only)
$131.50 if paid quarterly ( Download Application )

Lifetime Furharvester License: $502.50 (Residents Only)
$69.00 if paid quarterly ( Download Application )

  • Controlled Shooting Area: $27.50 - All Annual Hunting Licenses can be purchased from all licensed agents or online
  • Duplicates (all licenses and/or permits): $12.50 
    Can be purchased at the Pratt Operations Office or at any licensed agent .
  • Dogs - Commercial: $22.50 
    Can be purchased at the Pratt Operations Office or at any Region office.
  • Dogs - Field Trial:$22.50 
    Can be purchased at the Pratt Operations Office or at any Region office.

Quotas and Draw Stats    |    Deer Permit Purchasing Guide    |    Deer Management Units

Annual Hunting License -

All resident hunters age 16 through 74 must have a resident hunting license unless exempt by Kansas Law.  Nonresident hunters, regardless of age, must have a nonresident hunting license.  Annual hunting licenses can be purchased online by clicking here or through all licensed agents, or Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism offices.

For more information see the Deer Management Unit Map and Deer Regulations 

Schedules A, B, and C list all deer permits available. To Determine which permits you are eligible to obtain, click here for the online deer permit guide.    

 2016 SEASON DATES:
  • Youth and Disability Season: Sept. 3 - Sept. 11, 2016
  • Early Muzzleloader Season: Sept. 12 - Sept. 25, 2016
  • Archery Season: Sept. 12 - Dec. 31, 2016
  • Pre-Rut Firearm Whitetail Antlerless Season:  Oct. 8- Oct. 9, 2016. Any permit that allows the harvest of a whitetailed antlerless deer is valid during this season. Equipment and unit restrictions on permit imposed. Ft Riley Unit CLOSED for pre-rut season.  Hunter orange clothing is required.
  • Firearms Season: Nov. 30 - Dec. 11, 2016

Extended Antlerless Only Whitetail Season: Jan. 1 - 2, 2017        Valid in Units 6,8,9,10,16 and 17

Extended Antlerless Only Whitetail Season: Jan. 1 - 8, 2017        Valid in Units 1,2,3,4,5,7,11,12,13 and 14

Special Extended Antlerless Whitetail Season Jan. 1 - 15, 2017    Valid in Units 10A, 15 and 19

ARCHERY Antlerless Whitetail Season:   Jan. 16 - 31, 2017          DMU 19 ONLY

NO ANTLERLESS WHITETAIL PERMITS VALID IN UNIT 18.
 
Either Species Antlerless Only permits not available for 2016. 
 
Schedule A - Choices for General Resident Deer Permits
By Drawing only: 2016 Resident Either-species/Either-sex Firearms Deer Permit Application Deadline: July 8, 2016

There will be no paper applications or mail in forms for 2016. All draw applications will need to be submitted thru the online application process.

Applicants must apply online from June 6 thru July 8, 2016 or apply by phone 620-672-0728.

All fees listed below will have an internet convenience fee added at time of applying online for a permit or preference point.

Resident Firearm Either-species/Either-sex Firearms Deer permit (white-tailed or mule deer buck, doe or fawn)

  • $52.50  General Residents;
  • $32.50  Resident Landowner/Resident Tenant
  • $97.50  NR Tenant
  • $22.50  Resident Youth  (15 and younger)

 

* Permits are valid either in the EAST unit (3, 4, 5, 7, 16) or the WEST unit (1, 2, 17, 18) during the regular firearms season using any legal equipment.

    * $11.50 Preference Point          * A resident hunter who does not want to hunt in the current year season can purchase a preference point that will count toward a firearm either species, either sex deer permit in a future drawing.

 
For purchase OVER THE COUNTER OR ONLINE for 2016 season:

Resident Any-Season White-tailed Deer permit (white-tailed deer buck, doe or fawn)   Resident Any-season White-tailed Deer permits are valid statewide in any season, provided legal equipment is used for that season. Available Aug. 1 - Dec. 31.

  • $42.50  General residents
  • $22.50  Resident Landowner/Resident Tenant
  • $87.50  NR Tenant
  • $12.50  Resident Youth (15 and Younger)

 

Resident Archery Either-species/Either-sex Deer permit (white-tailed or mule deer buck, doe or fawn)  Resident Archery Either-species/Either-sex Deer permits are valid statewide with archery equipment only during archery season. Available Aug. 1 - Dec. 31

  • $42.50 General residents
  • $22.50 Resident Landowner/Resident Tenant
  • $87.50 NR Tenant
  • $12.50 Resident Youth (15 and Younger)

 

Resident Muzzleloader Either-species/Either-sex Deer permit (white-tailed or mule deer buck, doe or fawn)   Resident Muzzleloader Either-species/Either-sex Deer permits are valid either in the east unit (3, 4, 5, 7, 16) or the west unit (1, 2, 17, 18) during the early muzzleloader season and the regular firearm season using muzzleloading equipment only. Available Aug. 1 - Dec. 31

  • $42.50 General residents
  • $22.50 Resident Landowner/Resident Tenant
  • $87.50 NR Tenant
  • $12.50 Resident Youth (15 and Younger)

 

Hunt-Own-Land Deer Permit

  • $22.50 Resident Landowner/Resident Tenant

 

Available to individuals who qualify as resident landowners, including family members living with the landowner or tenant. Permit valid for any white-tailed or mule deer only on land owned or operated by landowner or tenant during muzzleloader-only, archery, and firearm seasons using equipment legal for that season. Available Aug. 1 - Dec. 31

Hunter must first have a resident deer permit that allows the taking of an antlered deer, unless purchased after Dec. 30:

Resident Antlerless White-tailed Deer permit (any white-tailed deer without a visible antler protruding from the skull)

  • $22.50 General Residents
  • $10.00 Resident Youth (15 and younger)

White-tailed Antlerless Deer permit (any white-tailed deer without a visible antler protruding from the skull)

Number of Whitetail Antlerless-Only (WAO) Permits a hunter may purchase is 5 but they may use them as follows:

The first antlerless whitetail permit shall be valid for units 1 thru 17, including lands managed by the department.

Four additional antlerless whitetail permits may be purchased and are valid in units 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 10A, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 and 19 on private land with landowner permission, Walk-In-Hunting Areas, and Cedar Bluff, Glen Elder, Kanopolis, Lovewell, Norton, Webster and Wilson Wildlife Areas and Kirwin National Wildlife Refuge.

         NO ANTLERLESS WHITETAIL PERMITS VALID IN UNIT 18.

 

Either Species Antlerless Only permits not available for 2016. 

  

The Nonresident deer permit drawing has been completed.  Permits and refunds were mailed out the first week of June. 
 
Leftover nonresident deer permits will be sold on a first-come first-serve basis beginning July 1st at 12:01 AM CDT on our website www.ksoutdoors.com    From the KDWPT home page, select License/Permits.     Any questions about leftover permits, you may call 620-672-0728 from 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM CDT, Monday thru Friday.
 
 
Schedule B - Choices for Nonresident Deer Permits
By drawing only: 2016 Nonresident DEER Permit Application Deadline: April 29, 2016

Applicants must apply online from April 1 thru April 29, 2016 or apply by phone 1-800-918-2877.

There will be no paper applications or mail in forms for 2016. All applications will need to be submitted thru the online application process.   All fees listed below will have an internet convenience fee added at time of applying online for a permit or preference point. 

  • $117.50 Nonresident Youth White-tailed Deer Permit (youth 15 and younger)
  • $442.50 Nonresident White-tailed Deer Permit Fee (16 and older)

*Bag Limit: (1) white-tailed deer - buck, doe or fawn AND (1) white-tailed antlerless deer

Hunter applies in one unit and selects one adjacent unit in which to also hunt, as well as the season choice (archery, muzzleloader, or firearm) at the time of application. Muzzleloader permit holders may hunt during early muzzleloader season and regular firearm season using muzzleloader equipment only.

Group Hunt: The group hunt application is to accommodate those who do not want to hunt unless their hunting partners draw also. Applicants (up to 5) must apply for the same unit and the same weapon choice. Each person will make application and there will be a question on the application about groups. The first applicant in the group to apply would choose the create group option on this question. This will create a group under this applicants KDWPT #. Each applicant applying after the group has been set up would choose the join group option and they would be asked to fill in the Group Leaders KDWPT # at that time.

  • $152.50 Mule Deer Stamp Fee (plus Nonresident White-tailed deer permit fee listed above)

*A nonresident must apply for the Mule Deer Stamp during the April application period. A nonresident who successfully draws an archery or muzzleloader White-tailed Deer Permit among units 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 16, 17, or 18 and has applied for the Mule Deer Stamp will be entered into a draw for one of a limited number of Mule Deer Stamps. If drawn, the applicant's White-tailed Deer Archery or Muzzleloader Permit converts to an Either-species/Either-sex Archery or Muzzleloader Permit. Preference points do not count toward this Mule Deer Stamp draw. If unsuccessful in the Mule Deer Stamp Draw, hunter will receive a  refund and be issued the White-tailed Deer Archery or Muzzleloader Draw Permit.

  • $26.50 Preference Point.

*A nonresident hunter who does not want to hunt in the current season can purchase a preference point that will count toward a white-tailed deer permit in a future drawing.

If unsuccessful in the draw, hunter receives a refund and a preference point for next year's draw.

If successful in the draw, you will also need to purchase a nonresident hunting license.

For purchase over-the-counter and online:

  • $87.50 Nonresident Hunt-Own-Land Deer Permit (available over the counter and online)

*Available to nonresident individuals who qualify as Kansas landowners. Permit valid for any white-tailed or mule deer only on land owned or operated by the nonresident landowner, during muzzleloader-only, archery, and firearm seasons using equipment legal for that season. Available online and over the counter July 1 - Dec. 31

  • $87.50 Special Hunt-Own-Land Relative Deer Permit (available over the counter and online)

*Available to individuals who qualify as lineal ascendants or descendants or siblings of resident landowners or all tenants, and spouses of a qualifying landowner. Permit valid for any white-tailed or mule deer only on land owned or operated by landowner or tenant during muzzleloader-only, archery, and firearm seasons using equipment legal for that season. Lineal relatives include direct ascendants or descendants such as a grandfather, mother, son, or granddaughter. Cousins, uncles, or nieces are NOT lineal family members. You would also need to purchase an annual hunting license. Available online and over the counter July 1 - Dec. 31

Hunter must first have a nonresident deer permit that allows the taking of an antlered deer, unless purchased after Dec. 30:

  • $52.50 Nonresident Antlerless White-tailed Deer permit (any white-tailed deer without a visible antler).

*White-tailed Antlerless Deer permit (any white-tailed deer without a visible antler protruding from the skull) Available online and over the counter July 1 - Dec. 31

Number of Whitetail Antlerless-Only (WAO) Permits a hunter may purchase is 5 but they may use them as follows:

The first antlerless whitetail permit shall be valid for units 1 thru 17, including lands managed by the department.

Four additional antlerless whitetail permits may be purchased and are valid in units 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 10A, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 and 19 on private land with landowner permission, Walk-In-Hunting Areas, and Cedar Bluff, Glen Elder, Kanopolis, Lovewell, Norton, Webster and Wilson Wildlife Areas and Kirwin National Wildlife Refuge.

        

NO ANTLERLESS WHITETAIL PERMITS VALID IN UNIT 18.

Either Species Antlerless Only permits not available for 2016.  

 

Schedule C - Choices for Nonresident Tenant Deer Permits

         $87.50     NR Tenant Hunt-Own-Land Deer Permit (available over the counter)   

Available to individuals who qualify as a tenant, including family members living with the tenant. Permit valid for any white-tailed or mule deer only on land owned or operated by tenant during muzzleloader-only, archery, and firearm seasons using equipment legal for that season. Available online and over the counter July 1 - Dec. 31

Hunter must first have a tenant deer permit that allows the taking of an antlered deer, unless purchased after Dec. 30:

  • $52.50 Nonresident Antlerless White-tailed Deer permit (any white-tailed deer without a visible antler)

*White-tailed Antlerless Deer permit (any white-tailed deer without a visible antler protruding from the skull) Available online and over the counter July 1- Dec. 31 

  • Number of Whitetail Antlerless-Only (WAO) Permits a hunter may purchase is 5 but they may use them as follows:

    The first antlerless whitetail permit shall be valid for units 1 thru 17, including lands managed by the department.

    Four additional antlerless whitetail permits may be purchased and are valid in units 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 10A, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 and 19 on private land with landowner permission, Walk-In-Hunting Areas, and Cedar Bluff, Glen Elder, Kanopolis, Lovewell, Norton, Webster and Wilson Wildlife Areas and Kirwin National Wildlife Refuge.

        NO ANTLERLESS WHITETAIL PERMITS VALID IN UNIT 18.

 Either Species Antlerless Only permits not available for 2016. 

Click here to proceed to the Deer Permit Questionnaire.

 Deer and Fall Turkey Regulations

All waterfowl hunters 16 and older must have a federal Migratory Bird Hunting and Conservation Stamp, and all hunters who are required to obtain a hunting license must also have a Kansas State Waterfowl Stamp and a Kansas Harvest Information Program (HIP) stamp before hunting ducks, geese, or mergansers. (Those not required to have a Kansas hunting license include people hunting their own land, and residents 15 and younger)

NEW FOR 2016:  The 48 Hour Waterfowl hunt license is no longer available for KS waterfowl hunters, it has been replaced by the Annual Hunt License.

Annual Hunting License - All resident hunters age 16 through 74 must have a resident hunting license unless exempt by Kansas Law.  Nonresident hunters, regardless of age, must have a nonresident hunting license.  Annual hunting licenses can be purchased online by clicking here or through all licensed agents, or Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism offices.

Waterfowl Stamps and Licence - All Waterfowl stamps and licenses can be bought at any licensed Agent , Pratt Operations Office , or online, EXCEPT for the Federal Waterfowl Stamp which is bought at a US Post Office, KDWPT Regional and Park Offices, and select license agents.  All Waterfowl stamps are good through season.

  • Kansas HIP Stamp: $2.50
  • State Waterfowl Stamp: $10
  • Federal Waterfowl Stamp: $26.50 - Purchased at any KDWP office or at any US Post Office.

State stamps are available at any licensed agent, online , Pratt Operations Office or Regional office. Federal stamps are available at a US Post Office, Pratt Operations Office or Regional office . Federal stamps must be signed across the face of the stamp.

Waterfowl stamps are not required to hunt Coot, Dove, Rail, Snipe, Woodcock, or Sandhill Crane. HIP is required.

If hunting Sandhill Crane, in addition to a hunting license ( if required), a federal sandhill crane hunting permit issued through and validated by the Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks is required to hunt cranes. Crane permits obtained in other states are not valid in Kansas. The validated permit ($7.50 validation fee) is available at any licensed agent , online , Pratt Operations Office , or Regional office .

All Kansas sandhill crane hunters must pass the "Test for Sandhill Crane Hunters" before obtaining a sandhill crane hunting permit.

"Online Test for Sandhill Crane Hunters." Click this link to take an online test that provides information about identifying whooping cranes, sandhill cranes, and look-alike species, as well as the hunter’s ability to choose safe shots. The test is both entertaining and informative and only takes a few minutes.



 
 
2016 FALL TURKEY

 

SECOND TURKEY GAME TAG VALID IN UNIT 2 ONLY

FALL TURKEY FEES:

  • General Resident Permit: $27.50
  • Resident Landowner/Tenant Permit: $15.00
  • Resident Youth Permit: $7.50
  • Resident Youth Game Tag: $7.50 (Game tags ONLY valid in UNIT 2)
  • Resident Turkey Game Tag: $17.50  (Game tags ONLY valid in UNIT 2)
  • Nonresident Permit: $52.50
  • Nonresident Turkey Game Tag: $32.50  (Game tags ONLY valid in UNIT 2)
  • Nonresident Youth Permit: $12.50
  • Nonresident Youth Turkey Game Tag: $12.50  (Game tags ONLY valid in UNIT 2)
  • Nonresident Tenant Permit:  $27.50

In addition to your turkey permit, you MUST have a Kansas hunting license, unless exempt by Kansas Law

2016 Fall Turkey Season Dates:  

Archery/Shotgun Season:  Oct. 1 - Nov. 29, 2016 and Dec. 12, 2016 - Jan. 31, 2017. 

A Fall Turkey permit is valid in the five open Units (1, 2, 3, 5, and 6). Unit 4 is closed for fall turkey hunting. Hunters may hunt only within the management unit printed on his or her permit.

Fall Turkey Game Tags: Any individual with a fall turkey permit may purchase as many as three turkey game tags valid in Unit 2 ONLY.

Fall turkey permits and game tags may be purchased online or at any vendor location from August 1 thru January 31, 2017.

 

2017 SPRING TURKEY 

Spring Turkey Unit Map

2017 SPRING TURKEY SEASON DATES:

  • YOUTH/DISABLED SEASON: APRIL 1- 11, 2017
  • ARCHERY SEASON: ARPIL 3 - 11, 2017
  • REGULAR SEASON: APRIL 12 - MAY 31, 2017

In addition to your turkey permit and tag, you MUST have a Kansas hunting license, unless exempt by Kansas Law.

Kansas youth (15 and under) may purchase a spring turkey permit valid statewide for $7.50

Any resident or nonresident hunter may purchase a turkey permit valid in units TBD.  A turkey permit is valid for one bearded turkey.

Any hunter with a spring turkey permit is eligible to purchase one (1) spring turkey game tag valid only in units TBD. A spring turkey game tag is valid for one bearded turkey.

Spring turkey permits and game tags may be purchased online or at any vendor location from January 11 through May 31, 2017.

Spring Turkey Combo Fees (purchased by March 31)

Any resident or nonresident may purchase a Spring Turkey Permit/Game Tag Combo and save. The combo includes a permit and game tag valid in Units TBD. The combo must be purchased by March 31 and will save hunters money.

  • Resident COMBO Permit/Game Tag:  $37.50
  • Resident Landowner/Resident Tenant COMBO Permit/Game Tag: $20.00
  • Resident Youth COMBO Permit/Game Tag: $12.50
  • Nonresident COMBO Permit/Game Tag: $87.50
  • Nonresident Tenant COMBO Permit/Game Tag: $45.00
  • Nonresident Youth COMBO Permit/Game Tag: $22.50

 

Spring Turkey Fees (after March 31)

  • Resident Permit: $ 27.50
  • Resident Landowner/Resident Tenant Permit: $15.00
  • Resident Youth Permit: $ 7.50
  • Resident Turkey Game Tag: $ 17.50
  • Resident Youth Game Tag: $7.50
  • Nonresident Permit: $ 62.50
  • Nonresident Turkey Game Tag: $ 32.50
  • Nonresident Youth Permit: $12.50
  • Nonresident Youth Game Tag: $12.50
  • Nonresident Tenant Spring Turkey Permit: $32.50
UNIT 4 SPRING TURKEY PERMITS (Kansas Residents ONLY)

(ARCHERY or FIREARMS) - By Drawing only

Deadline to apply for Unit 4 is Feb. 10, 2017

SPRING TURKEY UNIT MAP

A UNIT 4 DRAW PERMIT WILL ALSO BE VALID IN THE ADJACENT UNITS 1, 2 AND 5.

There will be no paper applications or mail in forms for 2017. All draw applications will need to be submitted thru the online application process or call 620-672-0728 to apply.

Unit 4 Spring Turkey applications accepted online from January 11 through February 10, 2017.

A total of 500 Spring Turkey Permits are available for Unit 4. Unit 4 applicants will have the opportunity to apply for a unit 4 permit and a game tag (valid for units TBD) at the reduced COMBO price.

Kansas youth (15 and under) may purchase a spring turkey permit valid statewide over the counter or online and will not need to enter the Unit 4 draw.

All fees listed below will have an internet convenience fee added at time of applying online for a permit or preference point.

UNIT 4 SPRING TURKEY APPLICATION FEES:

  • Unit 4 Resident General Application: $ 32.50
  • Unit 4 Resident Landowner/Tenant Application: $ 20.00
  • Unit 4 Resident General Combo Permit/Game Tag Application: $ 42.50
  • Unit 4 Resident Landowner/Tenant Combo Permit/Game Tag Application: $ 25.00
  • Unit 4 Nonresident Tenant Application: $ 37.50
  • Unit 4 Nonresident Tenant Combo Permit/Game Tag Application:  $50.00
  • Unit 4 Preference Point only: $6.50

There is a $6.50 nonrefundable application fee. Unsuccessful applicants will receive a refund check and be issued a preference point. If you do not want to apply for a permit and want to purchase a preference point only, you may do so online by selecting Spring Turkey Preference Point Application. Only one point may be obtained per year.

Group Hunt Application instructions:

The Group Hunt application is to accommodate those who do not want to draw unless their hunting partners draw also. Applicants must apply for the same unit. Do not mix General and Landowner/Tenant applications as group hunts; all must qualify for the same class. You must qualify for the LO/T in the unit applying for. LO/T permit allows you to hunt anywhere in the unit specified on the permit. LO/T will be awarded 50% of permits allotted for the Unit 4 computer draw. Noncompliance will result in the applications being processed as single applications without Group Hunts status. To apply online you must have group leader’s KDWP customer number to join the group. You will need to scroll down to "Limited Draw Applications" on the right. Fill in all blanks, and make sure you add same information on all Group Hunts applications.

Second Turkey Game Tags: Any individual who has purchased a Spring Turkey Permit is eligible for one second Turkey Game Tag. Spring Game Tags are valid for Units TBD . Individuals who possess a Spring Turkey Permit and Turkey Game Tag may harvest both turkeys the same day to obtain their Bag Limit .

Antelope

2016 Antelope Application Deadline:  June 10, 2016

FIREARMS and MUZZLELOADER

  • Western portions of the state have a limited competitive draw for firearm and muzzleloader permits. 
  • There will be no paper applications or mail in forms for 2016. All applications will need to be submitted thru the online application process.
  • Applicants must apply online from May 9 thru June 10, 2016 or by phone 620-672-0728.
  • All fees listed below will have an internet convenience fee added at time of applying online for a permit or preference point.

ANTELOPE APPLICATION FEES:

  • General Resident Application: $62.50
  • Resident Landowner/Resident Tenant Application: $37.50
  • Resident Youth Application ( age 15 and under): $22.50
  • NR Tenant Application: $97.50
  • Preference Point only: $11.50

A preference point will be given to those applicants who are unsuccessful in the Resident Draw. If you do not want to apply for a permit and want to purchase a preference point only, select preference point only online for $11.50 from May 9 thru June 10, 2016. Only one preference point may be obtained per year.

FIREARMS and MUZZLELOADER

Western portions of the state have a limited competitive draw for firearm and muzzleloader permits. These permits have a unit number printed on it and you are required to hunt within that geographic area. Be sure to consult the maps before hunting. Pratt Operations Office

ARCHERY

Archery: Oct. 31, 2016

Open Archery antelope permits have been available to residents since 1990. Recent annual sales have averaged about 115 resident archery permits, and with a 10 to 12 percent success rate among archery hunters, harvest impact on the pronghorn population by archery hunters has been minimal. Archery permits may be purchased online or at any licensed agent from Aug. 3 through Oct. 31, 2016.

  • Archery Antelope (general resident)    $52.50
  • Archery Antelope (resident landowner/resident tenant)   $27.50
  • Archery Antelope (resident youth 15 and younger)   $12.50
  • Archery Antelope (nonresident)   $302.50
  • Archery Antelope (nonresident youth 15 and younger)   $102.50 
  • Archery Antelope (nonresident tenant)   $87.50

2016 Antelope Season Dates:

  • Firearms Season:  Oct. 7 - Oct. 10, 2016
  • Archery Season:    Sept. 24 - Oct. 2 and Oct. 15 - Oct. 31, 2016
  • Muzzleloader Season:  Oct. 3 - Oct. 10, 2016
  • Shooting Hours: One-half hour before sunrise to one-half hour after sunset.

2016 Antelope Regulation Summary

2016 Antelope Draw Stats


 2016 ELK

 

2016 ELK DRAW Application Deadline: July 8, 2016

There will be no paper applications or mail in forms for 2016. All applications will need to be submitted thru the online application process.

Applicants must apply online from June 6 thru July 8, 2016 or apply by phone 620-672-0728. Fee to apply for an elk permit or purchase a bonus point is $12.81.

Military permits are only available for active duty military personnel stationed at Fort Riley. All other eligible persons must apply for general permits.

For the limited draw elk permits, each applicant shall have an additional opportunity in the draw for each bonus point earned. Bonus points are awarded as follows:

One (1) bonus point shall be awarded for each year the applicant is unsuccessful in obtaining a draw permit for the taking of an elk. If the applicant does not want to apply for a permit, they may purchase a bonus point during the application period.

When an applicant obtains an elk permit thru the draw, or if the applicant fails to make at least one application or purchase one bonus point within five consecutive years, all earned bonus points will be lost. Applicant cannot apply for a permit and purchase a bonus point in the same year.

 Permit fees will be collected from successful applicants only.

Elk - Firearms (Any Elk)

  • General Resident: $302.50
  • Landowner/Tenant: $152.50
  • Resident Youth (15 and younger): $127.50
  • Nonresident Tenant:  $152.50

Elk (antlerless)

  • General resident: $152.50
  • Landowner/Tenant: $77.50
  • Resident Youth (15 and younger): $52.50
  • Nonresident Tenant: $77.50

Units open for elk hunting were expanded in 2006 Commission Meeting to statewide use, except that UNIT 1 in Morton County is closed to elk hunting.

Elk hunting on and around Fort Riley was initiated in 1990. Most of the hunting opportunity occurs on the military base, but unlimited hunt-own-land permits have been allocated off the base since 1999, and additional units were opened to hunting in 2003.

An unlimited number of resident and landowner/tenant Either-sex Elk permits or Antlerless-only Elk permits authorized for Unit 3 are available online and over-the-counter August 3 through March 15, 2017.

Unlimited Hunt-own-land Either-sex Elk permits or Antlerless-only Elk permits authorized for Units 2 and 3 are available online and over-the counter through March 15, 2017. Hunt own land permits are valid during any season with equipment authorized for that season.

2016 ELK SEASON DATES

2016 Season dates OUTSIDE FORT RILEY

  • Muzzleloader Season: Sept. 1 - Sept. 30, 2016
  • Archery Season: Sept. 12 - Dec. 31, 2016
  • Firearms Season: Nov. 30 - Dec. 11, 2016 and Jan. 1 - Mar. 15, 2017

2016 Season dates ON FORT RILEY

  • Muzzleloader and Archery Season: Sept. 1 - Sept. 30, 2016
  • Firearms Season for Holders of Any-Elk Permits: Oct. 1 - Dec. 31, 2016
  • Firearms Antlerless First Segment: Oct. 1- Oct. 31, 2016
  • Firearms Antlerless Second Segment: Nov. 1 - Nov. 30, 2016
  • Firearms Antlerless Third Segment: Dec. 1 - Dec. 31, 2016

Elk Regulation Summary

LICENSES & FEES

A furharvester license is required to hunt, trap, or pursue (run) furbearers, or to sell their pelts unless exempt by Kansas law. A furharvester license is required to trap coyotes, and a hunting license is required to hunt them. The same license required to take coyotes is required to sell their pelts. Unlicensed, non-participating observers may accompany a licensed furharvester but may not assist in carrying or using equipment, controlling dogs, or otherwise assisting with furharvesting activities.

Persons under 16 years old may purchase a junior furharvester license at a discounted price.

Persons born on or after July 1, 1966 must complete the course before harvesting furbearers in the state on lands other than their own.

Furharvester: All Resident Furharvester Licenses can be purchased online or at any licensed agent.

  • Resident Furharvester: $27.50
  • Resident Junior Furharvester: $15.00
  • Nonresident Furharvester: $252.50

Fur Dealer Permits and Lifetime may only be purchased at the Pratt Operations Office .

Resident Fur Dealer: $102.50

Nonresident Fur Dealer: $402.50

Lifetime Furharvester (Resident only): $502.50

This public land information is being provided as a service to hunters. It has been prepared as a guide only and is not a complete list of regulations. For more detailed legal information, contact the KDWP Law Enforcement Division, or complete regulations may also be viewed or printed online.

To View all KDWPT Public Lands and specific location regulations, go to the locations section of the website.

Camping is allowed in designated areas only. Target shooting is allowed only in designated
areas.

GUIDING ON PUBLIC LAND

The Kansas Wildlife, Parks and Tourism Commission revoked KAR 115-8-24, which allowed commercial guiding of hunters on lands owned and managed by KDWPT.  Commercial guiding is no longer allowed on public wildlife areas owned and leased by the department, including federal lands around reservoirs and Walk-In Hunting Access areas. 

BLINDS ON PUBLIC LANDS AND WIHA

Blinds and tree stands may be used on department lands, subject to posted requirements and under the following conditions:

  1. tree stands may not be placed more than 14 days prior to the season and shall be removed within 14 days of the close of the season;
  2. ladders, screw-in metal steps, and steps attached by ropes, cables, or chains may be used to access stands and must be removed with the stand;
  3. natural blinds may be used and shall be constructed of natural herbaceous materials or woody debris that are present on the site;
  4. any person may use these stands if not occupied;
  5. only two portable blinds or tree stands per department-owned or managed area are allowed per hunter;
  6. portable blinds and tree stands must be parked with the owner’s name and address or KDWPT number;
  7. portable blinds may not be left unattended overnight; and
  8. any stand not conforming to the requirements may be removed or destroyed by department staff.