South Central Region

Region 4 Map

Thirteen counties in the southcentral portion of Kansas make up South Central Region. Not surprisingly, this middle area contains a mixture of many physiographic types, including the Smoky Hills, Red Hills, Arkansas River Lowlands, Wellington/McPherson Lowlands and the Flint Hills, which is the dominant landscape. Through the eastern half of this region, the Flint Hills provide tens of thousands of contiguous acres of tallgrass prairie. This region also contains the state’s largest metropolitan area, Wichita. More than any other, this region offers variety, from quail and pheasants in the west and south to waterfowl in the center to turkey, deer, quail and prairie chicken in the east. Four federal reservoirs are located within this region.