Protecting our hunting heritage through safe, knowledgeable and responsible hunters.
Locations to purchase a duplicate Hunter Education Certificate over the counter.
As amended and effective January 1, 2005 Kansas law provides:
Anyone born on or after July 1, 1957 must be certified by an approved course in hunter education before they can hunt in Kansas, except that anyone 15 years old or younger may hunt without hunter education certification provided they are under the direct supervision of an adult 18 years old or older.
APPRENTICE HUNTING LICENSE (Hunter Education Deferral)
Effective July 1, 2014 individuals 16 or older may purchase a two-time purchase deferral of the Hunter Education requirements by purchasing an Apprentice hunting license. Apprentice hunting license holders must hunt under the supervision of a licensed hunter age 18 or older.
Apprentice hunting licenses may be purchased at any Kansas license vendor, and online at kshuntfishcamp.com.
Hunter Education Certification issued by any state, Canadian Province, or some foreign jurisdictions are deemed to meet the requirements of Kansas Law.
HUNTING FEDERAL PROPERTIES: Hunting on some federal properties requires a valid Hunter Education certification, regardless of age. This requirement takes precedence over Kansas law.
AGE REQUIREMENT TO BE CERTIFIED: No one under the age of 11 will be certified in Hunter Education. Those under the age of 11 may take the course, provided space is available; however, the student will be required to take the course again for certification after turning 11.
YOUTH HUNTING ALONE: No one under the age of 12 may hunt by themselves, regardless of Hunter Education certification; All hunters under the age of 12 must hunt under the direct supervision of an adult age 18 or older. Hunters age 12 and older may hunt by themselves, provided they possess a valid Hunter Education certification.
Those under the age of 12 may not hunt with others under the age of 12 unless the group is under the direct supervision of an adult age 18 or older.
HUNTERS AGE 16 & OLDER: Hunters turning age 16 must have completed a Hunter Education course before they may purchase their first hunting license. All hunters age 16 to 27 – and all hunters age 12 to age 16 hunting alone – must carry proof of Hunter Education while hunting.
COURSE FORMAT: Hunter Education courses are offered in a "traditional" classroom format, and in an "internet-assisted" format. A limited number of Hunter Education "crash courses" are available to non-residents only.