Scott State Park, Cheyenne Bottoms among 24 finalists
PRATT -- Voters have until Dec. 31 to decide on the top eight tourist attractions in Kansas. The Kansas Sampler Foundation announced 24 finalists in June. More than 16,000 votes have been cast.

Two Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks recreation areas are among the 24 nominees -- Scott State Park and Cheyenne Bottoms Wildlife Area (co-nominated with Quivira National Wildlife Refuge).

“We’ve had packets of paper ballots sent from churches, nursing homes, and schools,” said Marci Penner, Kansas Sampler Foundation director. “We’ve also had votes from just about every state in the U.S. Some people send personal notes on why they love Kansas. It’s just a wonderful project to stir up Kansas pride.”

In addition to Scott State Park and Cheyenne Bottoms/Quivira, the 24 finalists include the following:

  • Arikaree Breaks, Cheyenne County
  • Ball of Twine, Cawker City
  • Big Brutus, West Mineral
  • Big Well, Greensburg
  • Brookville Hotel, Abilene
  • Chase County Courthouse, Cottonwood Falls
  • Cimarron National Grassland, Morton County
  • Constitution Hall State Historic Site, Lecompton
  • John Steuart Curry Murals, State Capitol, Topeka
  • Davis Memorial, Hiawatha
  • Eisenhower Museum and Library, Abilene
  • Fort Larned National Historic Site, Pawnee County
  • Garden of Eden, Lucas
  • Gypsum Hills Scenic Drive, Barber County
  • Kansas Cosmosphere, Hutchinson
  • Kansas Underground Museum, Hutchinson
  • Keeper of the Plains, Wichita
  • Monument Rocks/Castle Rock, Gove County
  • Pawnee Indian Museum, Republic County
  • St. Fidelis Catholic Church, Victoria
  • St. Mary’s Catholic Church, Benedict
  • Tallgrass Prairie National Preserve, Chase County

One month remains for the public to cast their votes to determine the top eight Wonders of Kansas. To vote, go online to www.8wonders.org or call 620-585-2374 for a paper ballot. The voting deadline is Dec. 31 at midnight.

“Reports from many of the attractions reveal that they are getting extra visitors who say they are on a journey to see every one of the finalists,” Penner said.

Governor Kathleen Sebelius will recognize all finalists in a private ceremony in the state capitol on Kansas Day, Jan. 29, 2008, before publicly announcing the top eight Wonders of Kansas in the rotunda.