Southeast Region

The southeast region is made up of 18 counties in the southeastern corner of the state. This area is dominated by the Osage Questas physiographic region, which is characterized by rolling grasslands, limestone bluffs and heavily timbered bottomlands. The far eastern areas of this region receive more than twice as much annual rainfall as western Kansas, and the vegetation is lush. This region also includes the Chautauqua Hills, the Cherokee Lowlands and a small section of Ozark Plateau in the far southeast corner. The unique mix of hardwood timber and native grass in the region makes it popular with quail, turkey and deer hunters. This corner of Kansas includes nine reservoirs and five state parks, as well as dozens of state and community fishing lakes.